The First United Methodist Church of Gulfport, Mississippi, traces its roots to a Sunday School that met in a railroad boxcar in the Fall of 1896, shortly before Gulfport became a city. A unique stained-glass dome is the dominant feature of the sanctuary. The sanctuary, the dome, and most importantly, the church people have thrived as a faith community in downtown Gulfport, surviving two hurricanes, Camille in 1969 and Katrina in 2005. At our heart, we are a congregation of many generations dedicated to the community of Gulfport and to the heart of Christ.
Photo credit: Historical Society of Gulfport